In Texas, driving under the influence produces thousands of death annually. Due to the large volumes of fatalities, the state has taken a new initiative to reduce these occurrences. Among these measures is using the implied consent ruling to arrest any drivers suspected of DUI. For those facing these charges, a Criminal lawyer in Royse City TX could help.
Identifying a Driving Under the Influence Charge
Currently, the blood-alcohol content reading that designates a DUI is 0.08 percent. However, commercial drivers are guilty if they have a reading of 0.04 percent. The state also has a zero tolerance policy for all minor consumption of alcohol. For this reason, a minor driving with any blood-alcohol content reading is guilty.
What are the Penalties for DUI?
Under the zero tolerance laws, minors receive a driver’s license suspension with a maximum of two years. They’ll pay at least $500 in fines and must complete alcohol education programs. Any minor that fails to complete their ordered alcohol education or treatment program receives an additional 180 days on their suspension. The court may also order an ignition interlocking device to be installed by the driver.
First Offense for an Adult
The state may impose fines of no more than $2,000 for the first conviction. The jail sentence may expand up to one hundred eight days. They driver’s license suspension could last as long as two years. All drivers convicted of any DUI or DWI offense is required to attend alcohol education courses. They are required to install an ignition interlocking device and pay an annual surcharge.
When is a DUI a Felony?
The fourth DUI or crimes connected to this charge are classified as a felony. They may include manslaughter or assault. The judge may increase the penalties for these charges based on previous criminal records.
In Texas, DUI is a heinous crime that has been a leading source of fatalities. In an effort to prevent DUI-related deaths, all applicable laws are enforced more effectively. This could lead to criminal penalties and a prison sentence in some instances. Drivers who are facing these charges need to hire a Criminal lawyer in Royse City TX by contacting Law Offices of Tim Hartley or visiting RockwallCountyDWIAttorney.com for more info.